My Blog Goes Whump

And now you, the world, knows my problem with blogs. How I want to have a hundred of them, all updating on a regular basis with adventures and how-to’s and beautiful photographs. And I plan and scheme and design and launch and – – –

whump.

Followthrough is one of my difficulties. It is, in fact, my main difficulty.

I am, in every sense but the cinematic, a movie producer. I have ideas. I have vision. But what I require is a team to give direction to. Because when it comes down to it, I could learn all the details, yes, but who has time when there is so much visioning to do?

I have in my metaphorical back pocket a dozen business ideas that I know would work because they, well, just would. Because I’ve thought of the displays and the soundtrack and the email marketing and the color palette. I have three magazines waiting for their ravenous niche markets. I have several imprints, a handful of bakeries (including Flour Power, a gluten-free bakery), and a university all planned out. (Yes, a university. Where you could get, for example, a Masters in Light, having studied everything from candle-making to nuclear power.)

I want to write several research books that will be wildly popular, on Roman Engineering: How the Romans Created the First Industrial Civilization Without the Number Zero, and Blood and Booze: A History of Our Love Affair with Arena Sports. There are of course my graphic novels, my Newberry-eligible novels, and all my other novels. I’ve written PSAs and songs with no melody (and this great idea for a website where you submit original lyrics and bands across the world put them to music for you and then you commission the one you like best!).

There’s the backyard that will have a pond with an island, and on that island an old claw-footed bathtub filled with cushions to read in. 

I have ideas. I have enthusiasm. I have vision.

I also have a full-time job that requires me to stare at a screen all day, a two-hour round-trip commute, and an unfathomable need for 10-12 hours of sleep a night. This gives me very little time or desire to stare at a screen in the evenings or on the weekends, and I scramble to do things like wash my laundry, feed myself, and clean the gutters (which, evidently, is not the landlord’s responsibility).

But the job is no excuse. The chores are no excuse. I went several years without a full-time job. Did I accomplish any follow-through with my vision-eering? Nope. I’m forced to think it’s me.

Anyhoo, I just wanted to share with you, o world, that I am thinking about you, and I keep meaning to write.

Perhaps I should just pick up the phone and call.

11 thoughts on “My Blog Goes Whump

  1. Sharyn Sowell says:

    You write sooooo well. And I, too, have an old claw-foot bathtub sitting in the back garden. It is waiting to come into the bathroom one day, where it shall be filled with pillows for those times when one needs a refuge but not the hot water. Perhaps it would make a great spare bed for a child. But there I go, visioneering again, right alongside you.

    I must go back to visioneering a line of garden goods. Love your blog. And the girl behind it.

  2. Danielle says:

    Oh, Noël! I do so relate… I was just telling God today that I realize my challenge is in _working_ the plan. But do not despair! God is gracious and you will certainly accomplish what He wants you to accomplish. So..

    “Trust in the Lord and do good;
    Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.
    Delight yourself in the Lord;
    And He will give you the desires of your heart.
    Commit your way to the Lord,
    Trust also in Him, and He will do it.” Ps. 37:3-5

    “The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
    And He delights in his way.
    When he falls, (or goes Whump!) he will not be hurled headlong,
    Because the Lord is the One who holds his hand.” Ps. 37:23-24

    He made you a visionary; Cling tightly to His hand and He will lead you in the path He has made out for you. While it is hard to tell whether that path will resemble your visions or not, you can trust that it will be exceedingly, abundantly greater than you can imagine!

  3. lisa says:

    love and encouraging words whenever you need them, whatever the time are here for you . . . . you are REAL, you are God’s creation and HE WILL GUIDE YOU!

    • Stone (including cutting, carving, paving, building, glass, and gems), Woodwork (cutting, planing, csrving, joining, etc.), Fibers (from plant and animal, seed to thread to cloth), Metal (ore to alloy to finial pieces), and others (my list is elsewhere). Cross-disciplinary studies such as bookbinding would be offered as well.

      The goal would be to study methods of working with raw resources on a pre-industrial scale, both for the preservation of working knowledge and for the development of future possibilities.

      All studies would be intensely practical, but also include rigorous theory and experimemtation.

      • Pretty close. I mean, it would be, with students studying under master craftsmen as well as professors. It would be interesting to research future employment opportunities for people with those skills, other than “just” artisans.

        It wouldn’t be like Williamsburg where electricity is forbidden and costumes are required, but one would have to learn all the basic practices and principles before moving on to modern tools.

        I got the idea after visiting Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesen West in Scottsdale, AZ. The history of the architect school there intrigued me — I wanted a school like that, just not for architecture.

Share, fellow adventurer!

